In view of the 24 November 2015 deadline set by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) for the phasing-out of non-machine readable passports/travel documents, the public is informed that the Philippine Bureau of Immigration (BI) shall no longer allow entry of foreign nationals holding said types of travel documents in all international airports and seaports by the 1st quarter of 2017.


The Embassy will no longer accept non-machine readable passports/travel documents from all visa applicants effective 01 October 2016. This will apply to all types of passports including ordinary, official, diplomatic, and/or service documents, except for temporary travel documents designed for emergency situations per ICAO guidelines.